Welcome to Herbarium World

Museum of Natural History, Providence, RIIt was in October 2010 that I fell in love with herbaria, collections of preserved plant specimens.  I didn’t know them very well and had only visited a couple.  However, two months earlier I was so taken by the small herbarium I had visited at the Natural History Museum in Providence, Rhode Island (photo above) that I decided to return in October, and by that time I was hooked.

I am a biologist with a background in molecular biology, so if I was suddenly in love with herbaria, I had to learn something about plants.  For the past few years, I’ve been taking botany courses, reading the literature, and visiting herbaria.  To get some hands-on experience, I am volunteering at New York Botanical Garden’s Steer Herbarium.

Leave a Reply

